top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCourtney Vacker

Outreach Locations Revealed

Finally it's time to reveal where I will be going for the outreach portion of my DTS and what we'll be doing. Most of what we will be doing will be centered around youth ministries since that is the track that I chose within my DTS. First, we will go to Uganda for 4 weeks, then fly to Papua New Guinea for 2 weeks, and then go back to Sunshine Coast, Australia for the last 2 weeks of our outreach.


In Uganda, during the first 3 weeks, we will be in a place called Mityana, handing out over 1,000 Bibles, preaching the gospel in high schools and churches, and partnering with pastors there to plant 6 churches! Isn't that crazy!? I still cannot believe I get to experience and play a part in something so huge and that will have a lasting impact after we're gone. Then, for our last week in Uganda, we will be going to Kampala, working with a Compassion International orphanage.

Mityana, Uganda

Kampala, Uganda

In Papua New Guinea, we will be going to Mt. Hagen, working with some youth groups from local churches and preaching the gospel and doing ministry in about 36 high schools.


Mt. Hagen, Papua New Guinea

Lastly, our youth ministries track will come back 2 weeks earlier than the other tracks to host the first ever MISSION ADVENTURES!!! This is essentially a mini DTS for local youth groups to come to our base and experience. There will be a week long lecture phase that we will teach and then a week long outreach phase. And since it is the first mission adventures that our base is putting on, we will be leading the youth group in local outreach here in Sunshine Coast instead of taking them somewhere overseas. This is so exciting since this is something that the YWAM Sunshine Coast base has been pioneering and planning for and, it is such a cool privilege that they have chosen our track to lead the first one.


Now that the fun part is over, it is time to talk about less exciting things like finances. Our outreach is going to cost a total of $4,700 USD. While this has been a source of stress recently, God has actually been so cool in reminding me of His provision and convicting me of how often I am quick to doubt it. Just today, they told us that we will need half of that by tomorrow. While this seems impossible I know that God is so much bigger than this problem. If he can part the Red sea and save Moses in order to deliver His people to the Promised Land, I truly believe that God can provide the money that I need. On top of that, if He has provided all of the finances for me to be here so far, why would He not continue to provide for this as well. I am learning more and more that the Lord allows us to be brought into a place where we must trust and have faith in Him. If I got the money I needed for the entire DTS all at once, there would be no opportunity to trust that He would provide. It is in these moments where we have no other option than to give up or trust Him that our faith is able to grow. Now that I have decided to completely trust Him, I cannot wait for the amazing testimony that will come from this and the ways He will use this experience to bring Him glory.


Whether it’s through prayer or finances, I would love to have your support through this journey. If you feel led, you can click here to donate through my GoFundMe page or click here to donate through Venmo.


If you want to look stylish I am also selling $25 Comfort color T-shirts (2 colors) with the picture and pre-order link here.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page